There are many ways in which someone could be accused of a firearm offense. It is important to remember that you do not have to fight against gun crime accusations alone. An Arapahoe County gun lawyer can help you understand your charges and address the allegations brought against you. Additionally, a criminal defense attorney could help you prepare for any legal proceedings and address any concerns you may have.
While residents are permitted to own certain firearms, there are laws in place limiting the degree to which those weapons can be used. If a person is accused of the inappropriate use of a gun, either with violent or negligent intent, then they may face criminal charges. Some of the most common gun charges that some of our Arapahoe County lawyers have handled include:
Anyone who uses a gun while under the influence of alcohol or drugs may face serious charges. Dangerously discharging or throwing a weapon at another person can result in criminal charges. First-time violations are a misdemeanor resulting in up to 12 months in jail. Repeated violators can face fifth-degree felony (F5) charges, in accordance with Colorado Revised Statutes §18-12-106. This behavior can result in up to three years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000.
According to CRS §18-12-103, residents are forbidden from owning certain guns. The possession of these weapons or the possession of a firearm with a modified serial number can result in a first-degree misdemeanor (M1). Parties brought up on these charges can face up to 18 months in prison in addition to a $5,000 fine.
Parties who have been convicted of a felony in the past or who are otherwise barred from purchasing a firearm may not carry weapons in Colorado, as specified by CRS §18-12-108. If weapons are discovered on a person who falls within this category, the punishment depends on what the previous conviction was, how long ago it was, and whether the weapon is considered dangerous.
Note that minors may also face consequences for possessing a firearm. No party under 18 may come into contact with a gun and use it with deadly force. Parties who do can face M2 charges, along with the threat of a 12-month jail sentence.
According to CRS §18-12-105, concealed carry is illegal in Colorado except in certain circumstances. This includes firearms, certain knives, and dangerous or explosive devices. Improperly carrying a concealed weapon can result in class two misdemeanor penalties. A first-time offender can face up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
While the inappropriate use of any firearm can result in criminal charges, the use of certain types of guns can enhance those charges. The state law definition of a dangerous weapon is not restricted to guns. Instead, according to CRS §18-1-901, the state’s definition includes:
While a person’s intent is also important, the use of any weapon can result in a more serious charge. A lawyer in Arapahoe County could help someone accused of gun crime charges due to the use of a deadly weapon.
Crafting a defense against gun crimes does not have to be a challenge. If the accused or their loved ones have been brought up on gun crime charges, they should get in touch with an Arapahoe County lawyer. A firearm defense attorney could help the accused better understand the prosecution’s accusations and their best defense against them.
It is not impossible to overcome accusations of gun crimes. If you are looking for someone to defend you in court, get in touch with the Colorado Lawyer Team. We could sit down with you during an initial consultation and discuss the details surrounding your deadly weapons case. From there, we can better represent you throughout the court process. Do not wait to act. One of our Arapahoe County gun lawyers could come to your defense.