If you are caught stealing, you could be charged with misdemeanor or felony theft, depending on the value of the items that were stolen. Being convicted of class 2 felony theft is punishable by imprisonment for a maximum of 24 years, as well as a substantial fine. Considering the severity of the possible penalties, it is wise to contact a Brush theft lawyer if you are charged with larceny.
Working with seasoned criminal lawyers like Justie and Jenn at Colorado Lawyer Team gives you an advocate who can protect your constitutional rights and defend you against the charges. An attorney could help you attain the best outcome possible in your situation.
How Is Theft Classified in Brush
Theft is categorized as an offense against property in article 4 of the state criminal code, more specifically Colorado Revised Statutes Title 18. Criminal Code § 18-4-401.
Most theft offenses are charged as misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the value of items taken. However, taking property with a value of less than $50 is charged as a class 1 petty offense rather than as a misdemeanor.
The different classes of misdemeanor and felony theft charges in Brush are as follows:
- Class 3 misdemeanor: Theft of items valued between $50 to $300
- Class 2 misdemeanor: Theft of items valued between $300 to $750
- Class 1 misdemeanor: Theft of items valued between $750 to $2,000
- Class 6 felony: Theft of items valued between $2,000 to $5,000
- Class 5 felony: Theft of items valued between $5,000 to $20,000
- Class 4 felony: Theft of items valued between $20,000 to $100,000
- Class 3 felony: Theft of items valued between $100,000 to $1 million
- Class 2 felony: Theft of items with a value of over $1 million
A local attorney who knows Brush theft laws could answer questions about the various misdemeanor and felony classes of theft offenses.
Penalties for Committing Theft
The sanctions for a class 1 petty theft offense in which items worth less than $50 are taken is a possible jail sentence of up to six months and a $500 fine. The penalties for misdemeanor theft also include confinement and fines. The term of incarceration can range from a few days for class 3 misdemeanor theft to a maximum of 18 months for class 1 misdemeanor offenses, with fines ranging from $50 to $5,000.
Felony theft offenses are punishable by more severe sanctions. On the low end, the punishments for class 6 felony theft offenses include a prison sentence of 12 to 18 months, fines as high as $100,000, and one year of parole. Class 2 felonies are the most serious category of theft offenses and carry a sentence of eight to 24 years in prison, fines as high as $1 million, and five years on parole.
The penalties for felony theft charged as class 3, 4, or 5 include a prison sentence ranging from one year to 12 years, several hundred dollars worth of fines and two to five years on parole. A lawyer who handles theft cases in Brush could answer questions about the specific penalties for each of the felony classes.
Speak with a Brush Theft Attorney As Soon As Possible
It is too much of a gamble to try defending yourself against theft charges, especially if they are for a felony offense. Further, you could face the maximum penalty possible if you have prior theft convictions or if aggravating factors occurred. The best thing to do when facing theft charges is to retain a Brush theft lawyer.
Our skilled legal team could prepare a strong legal defense to theft charges and fight for the best possible resolution to your case. Additionally, an attorney could look out for your rights to protect against infringement. Speak with an attorney about your case as soon as possible.