Driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while also impaired (DWAI) is illegal in Colorado. A DUI or DWAI charge carries costly and long-term penalties that can cause a lot of grief, both personally and financially. In Colorado, when you receive a DUI or DWAI charge, you must act quickly. You only have seven days after receiving a Notice of Revocation to request a hearing, so it is best to get help from the Colorado Lawyer Team.

If you are facing a driving under the influence charge, you need an experienced Douglas County DUI lawyer. A seasoned criminal defense attorney can provide crucial assistance to help you fight your case.

What is Driving Under the Influence?

Under Colorado law, there is no separate statute for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or operating a vehicle under the influence of drugs (DUID). Colorado’s DUI statute covers both alcohol and drugs under a combined DUI statute. Based on Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.) § 42-4-1301(1)(a), any person who operates a motor vehicle while also under the influence of drugs, alcohol, or any combination is committing driving under the influence.

Colorado’s only distinction is found in C.R.S. § 42-4-1301(1)(b), which criminalizes “driving while ability impaired.” C.R.S. § 42-4-1301(1)(g) defines “driving while ability impaired” as operating an automobile while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or a combination thereof that affects a person’s ability to drive “in the slightest degree” and results in their ability being reduced below that of an ordinary person who is not under the influence of any drugs or alcohol. 

The Legal Alcohol Limit

For DUI cases, the relative amount of alcohol in your bloodstream, or blood-alcohol content (BAC), is considered when determining charges. Even if a driver is driving normally and passes a roadside inspection, a BAC of over 0.08% is deemed “excessive” and places that driver in the DUI category. That same driver could be considered within the DWAI range if their BAC is more than 0.05% but less than 0.08%. 

Consequences for Intoxicated Drivers

Under Colorado statute, the penalties for DUI and DWAI have a wide range based on the test results’ nature and whether the driver is a repeat offender or is facing their first charge. Under C.R.S. § 42-4-1307, a first-time DUI charge can carry jail time from 5 days to a full year and community service ranging from 48 to 96 hours. Additionally, fines may range from $600 to $1000.

Subsequently, a first-time DWAI charge can carry jail time ranging from 2 days to 180 days, 24 to 48 hours of community service. Like a DUI, there are also fines ranging from $200 to $500. The conditions that determine the consequences of a DUI or DWAI charge are nuanced and often require the expertise of well-versed Douglas County DUI counsel. 

Discuss Your Case with a ­­Douglas County DUI Attorney

If you are facing a DUI charge, you need to act quickly to fight the charges against you. In Douglas County, you only have seven days to challenge a DUI or DWAI charge before facing a license suspension. Besides a license suspension, you can face additional legal consequences. Work with a knowledgeable Douglas County DUI lawyer who can immediately help you fight your case. Call the Colorado Lawyer Team now.