Suppose you are facing charges of driving under the influence (DUI) in Fort Collins. In that case, you will need the help of an accomplished Fort Collins DUI lawyer to navigate the charges. A DUI or DWAI fee brings severe and long-term consequences that can inflict significant personal and financial hardship.
If you were charged with driving under the influence of alcohol, you must act quickly. You only have seven days after receiving notice to seek a hearing. Under this short timeline, a Fort Collins DUI lawyer can offer critical assistance and provide the defense you need. Speak to the Colorado Lawyer Team to learn about how you can fight your case.
What is Driving Under the Influence?
Under Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.) § 42-4-1301(1)(a), any person who operates an automobile under the influence of drugs, alcohol, or any combination is committing driving under the influence. There is no separate statute for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or driving under the influence of drugs (DUID). Colorado’s driving under the influence law covers both alcohol and drugs under a combined DUI statute.
In Fort Collins, it is a misdemeanor offense for one to operate any vehicle where the individual’s blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08% or higher at the time of driving the vehicle or within two hours after driving. Immediately consulting with a Fort Collins DUI attorney can address the BAC issue and can rebut the BAC level with direct or circumstantial evidence showing that the BAC test was in some way defective or not accurate.
Driving under the influence is defined as an individual operating a vehicle when they have consumed alcohol or drugs, and the individual cannot exhibit physical control or exercise clear judgment in order to safely operate the vehicle.
However, deciphering Colorado’s statutes and their associated penalties can be a daunting task. Seeking the guidance of a specialized Fort Collins DUI attorney can be a crucial step in determining what penalties apply and how to defend against them.
The Penalties for Intoxicated Motorists
The punishments for a DUI vary depending on the test results and whether the driver is a repeat offender or is facing their first charge under Colorado law. A first-time DUI conviction under C.R.S.§ 42-4-1307 carries a penalty of up to one year in prison and up to 96 hours of community service. Additionally, fines of $600 to $1000 can be imposed. A qualified Fort Collins DUI attorney could investigate the charges and help build a strong defense.
Do Not Hesitate to Seek Assistance from a Fort Collins DUI Attorney Now
If you are accused of driving while intoxicated, you need to call the Colorado Lawyer Team immediately. Conserving evidence is critical to defending against DUI charges. Schedule a consultation with a Fort Collins DUI lawyer who is ready to take on your case and defend your rights.