Please click here to complete our intake questionnaire. After filling out your information; click here to schedule an appointment.

Drug Schedule Categorization of Controlled Substances in Greenwood Village

Colorado has a very broad drug scheme. And obviously, depending on the type of drug, possession of drugs can be considered a petty offense, completely legal in the case of marijuana, if they’re over the age of 21, or even a misdemeanor or a felony. Sometimes not only does it depend on the particular drug in their possession, but also how much of it is within their possession.

If you are accused of possessing controlled dangerous substances, it is best you seek legal help immediately. There are many elements of a drug case and it is essential you understand the process. Speak to an experienced attorney to learn about drug schedule categorization of controlled substances in Greenwood Village.

What Is a Controlled Substance?

In Colorado, the drug possession laws are start at 18-18-403.5. There are a variety of offenses related to drugs which is considered as possession of controlled substance.

Typically, there are different schedules in each state. The Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) has their own rules, marijuana is typically illegal under federal law, so we do differ from federal law in that sense. For example, in Colorado, there are five schedules of substances. Schedule I is for heroin and LSD. Schedule II is opium, codeine and meth. Schedule III is hydrocodone, opiates, anabolic steroids, ketamine, as well as Special K. Schedule IV is lorazepam. Schedule V is buprenorphine. Based on what the individual possesses, it can follow anywhere in those five schedules.

Sentencing Influences Based On The Type Of Controlled Dangerous Substance

More serious sentences come when they have higher amounts of Schedule I and Schedule II substance, for example, they might have a DF4, DF5, DF6, DM1, or DM2, a DM2 carries with it up to a year in jail and $1,000.00 fine. A DM2 is something like possession of marijuana in a very small amount or being under the age necessary to possess marijuana. A DM1 is probably the most common that we see, and it’s up to 18 months of jail and up to a $10,000.00 fine.

Speak to a Local Drug Attorney As Soon As Possible

If you are facing a felony or misdemeanor drug offense you should contact an attorney right away. It is essential that you do not speak to anyone without retaining an attorney first. There are various types of controlled substances so it is best to learn how each schedule could affect your case. Schedule a consultation with the Colorado Lawyer Team to discuss drug schedule categorization of controlled substances in Greenwood Village.