The Colorado laws are zero-tolerance for underage driving under the influence (DUI) offenses. If a person who is under 21 drives with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level between 0.02 and 0.05, they can be charged with a DUI. Just as in adult drivers, officers look for the indications of impairment to establish probable cause in underage DUI cases.
The consequences are more lenient on first offenses for an underage driver. The driving consequences for a first offense are more severe, including an automatic three months’ suspension. Depending on the level of BAC that is in that person’s system, judges and prosecutors may mitigate the consequences.
If you are underage and have been charged with a driving under the influence offense, reach out to Justie and Jenn at Colorado Lawyer Team for help. A diligent Greenwood Village underage DUI lawyer could review the charges, investigate, and help you build a defense. Let a skilled DUI attorney handle the legal aspects of your case on your behalf.
Where Can A Minor Be Charged?
The most common non-road area in which DUIs occur is a parking lot of an establishment. Even if a person is just parked in Walgreens’ parking lot or on the side of the road because they just pulled over for whatever reason, or if they are parked in their driveway in front of their house, an officer could still contact them. If they are behind the wheel of the car and the car is running, then they could get charged. It is best to speak to a Greenwood Village underage DUI lawyer to understand the charges and the potential penalties of a conviction.
Penalties For an Underage DUI
The blood alcohol level is the biggest difference between standard and underage DUI’s. Also, the penalties are not nearly as severe because on the first offense, there is little risk of jail. An adult can face up to a year in jail. When there are minors involved, the courts are slightly more lenient just because the charged person is still young.
An underage person can expect different processes if this is a first, second, or third offense DUI. First offenses come with a fine of up to a $150, automatic three months’ suspension of the driver’s license, four points on the Colorado driving record, up to 24 hours of useful public service, and alcohol and drug treatment and evaluation. A second offense can come with 10 to 90 days in jail and/or a fine of $300. A Greenwood Village underage DUI attorney could review the charges and help mitigate the consequences.
Let a Greenwood Village Underage DUI Attorney Help
DUI arrests are very common in Colorado. It is best to seek help from a seasoned DUI attorney to fight the charges. The reasons to contact an experienced Greenwood Village DUI lawyer when facing an underage DUI include getting good advice, being able to talk to someone who has experience with these charges, talking to someone who knows the prosecutors and the judges, and someone who can effectively assess the case. A local DUI lawyer could discuss your options, explain the legal process, and help you build a strong defense.
Jenn and Justie at Colorado Lawyer Team are ready to take on your case. Call today to get started.