If law enforcement is investigating you for theft or has brought theft charges against you, it is time for you to get help from a Larimer County theft lawyer. Our defense attorneys offer aggressive representation to people who are facing criminal charges.
A theft conviction could force you to give up certain professional licenses or prevent you from applying for positions in certain industries. Landlords could use a theft conviction to deny you an apartment, and a bank could reject your application for a mortgage or line of credit. The Colorado Lawyer Team is committed to providing you with a vigorous defense to minimize the consequences of theft charges.
Different Categories of Theft in Larimer County
Theft means depriving the owner of the use of property that rightfully belongs to them. Crimes such as embezzlement, burglary, shoplifting, and larceny are all theft crimes. The specific charge depends on the value of the property allegedly taken.
When the property’s value is less than $2,000, the charge is typically a misdemeanor (M). The penalties for these charges vary according to the value of the property. Restitution to the property owner is usually a condition of resolving a theft charge, and the restitution is in addition to any criminal fine imposed.
A Class 3 misdemeanor theft charge (M3) is possible if the property’s value was between $50 and $300. The potential penalty for a conviction on that charge would be 6 months in jail and a $750 fine, or both. Further, an M2 theft charge would apply if the value is between $300 and $750—the penalty is a possible jail sentence of no more than 1 year and a $1,000 fine. If the value exceeds $750 but is less than $2,000, the charge is M1 theft, and the potential penalty is up to 1.5 years of incarceration and a $5,000 fine.
Felony (F) charges break down in the same way:
- F6 for property valued between $2,000 and $5,000
- F5 for property valued between $5,000 and $20,000
- F4 for property valued between $20,000 and $100,000
- F3 for property valued between $100,000 and $1,000,000
- F2 for property valued over $1,000,000
The penalties for felony theft range from 18 months in prison, a $100,000 fine for an F6 conviction, up to 24 years of incarceration, and $1,000,000 in fines for an F2 conviction. Anyone in Larimer County accused of felony theft should secure the services of our attorneys to avoid the harsh outcomes associated with conviction of these crimes.
Defending Theft Charges Under State Law
Knowing the intent to deprive someone of their property is an essential element of all theft crimes, which means that a prosecutor must prove that the accused intended to take or use property that they knew rightfully belonged to someone else.
Depending on the circumstances of a particular Larimer County case, our savvy lawyers could challenge your intent to commit theft, knowledge that the property was someone else’s, or both. Unless the prosecutor has clear evidence of both knowledge and intent, their attempt to prove theft must fail.
The Colorado Lawyer Team could also question the assessed value of the property allegedly stolen. Prosecutors might overvalue property to bring a more serious charge when the property’s actual value merits a less severe charge. It could be possible to collect evidence showing prosecutorial overreach in determining the value of the allegedly stolen property.
Work With an Experienced Larimer County Theft Attorney
If you are facing theft charges, you must carefully consider the implications of a conviction. A guilty plea to even a minor theft charge could close off many potential avenues to you in the future.
Consult with one of our Larimer County theft lawyers before deciding how to respond. With an aggressive advocate in your corner, you could secure the most favorable result that circumstances will allow.