Being charged with committing a sex crime is a serious allegation. If you are accused of a sexual offense, your first point of action should be to contact a Loveland sex crimes lawyer.
It is essential to have a seasoned criminal defense attorney on your side to help you fight the allegations. Individuals convicted of a sex crime sometimes face long-term consequences, such as submitting personal information to the sex offender registry and difficulty obtaining a preferred job. Justie and Jenn have experience helping people fight their cases. Reach out to get started building your defense.
Many of the laws on sex offenses in Loveland are covered in the state criminal code on unlawful sexual behavior. Examples of unlawful sexual behavior that could result in criminal charges and prosecution in Loveland include:
Individuals convicted of certain sex crimes, such as sexual assault on a child, might be required to register as a sex offender. Failing to register when required or failing to provide a verifiable address as part of registration requirements can lead to additional criminal charges and sanctions. An attorney who knows sex offense laws and registration requirements in Loveland could help an individual understand the process for registering as a sex offender.
The criminal code of the Colorado Revised Statutes outlines sentencing requirements for each sex offense. In many cases, the penalties include a lengthy prison sentence. A skilled Loveland attorney who knows sex offense laws could explain the penalties for specific offense.
Depending on certain aggravating factors, sexual assault can be charged as a class 2, 3, or 4 felony offense. The penalties that can be imposed for sexual assault increase with each higher felony class. For instance, sentencing for class 4 felony sexual assault includes a prison sentence of two to six years, while the prison term for class 2 felony sexual assault is between eight and 24 years. Certain crimes or factors may elevate the crime to a higher felony, classify the crime as a crime of violence, or enhance the penalties due to being an extraordinary risk crime.
Promotion of pornography or other obscene materials is a class 1 or class 2 misdemeanor, depending on the circumstances. Sizable fines and a jail term ranging from three to 18 months can be imposed for a class 1 or 2 misdemeanor offense.
Sexual assault on a child occurs when a minor under 15 years of age is subjected to any sexual contact by a person who is at least four years older. Sexual assault on a child is either a class 3 or class 4 felony, depending on whether force or threats were used to commit the assault. The penalties for class 3 and 4 felonies include incarceration for 4 to 12 years or 2 to 6 years, respectively.
Online sexual exploitation of a child is a class 4 felony. Upon conviction, sentencing can include up to six years in prison, a $500,000 fine, and three years of parole. Promotion of obscene materials to a minor is a class 6 felony, which is punishable by 12-18 months incarceration, a fine up to $100,000, and one year of parole.
It is best to retain a Loveland sex crimes lawyer if you are facing criminal charges for a sexually-based offense. A lawyer who knows the laws regarding sexual offense could provide a strategic defense to any charges against you.
Justie and Justie at Colorado Lawyer Team could manage all legal elements of your case from arrest through court. Speak with an attorney about your sex crimes case right away.