Has a Colorado court charged you with a sexual crime? If so, you need to arm yourself with information and hire the services of an experienced sex offender attorney right away.
To help you get started, we’ve created a guide on the top five things you need to know about Colorado’s sex offender registry.
Misdemeanors Require Registration
It’s a common misconception that only felony charges require registration. In many cases, even a misdemeanor sexual offense requires registration.
These misdemeanors include:
Even as misdemeanors, these offenses can land an individual on the Denver sex offender registry for at least 5 to 10 years.
The Hidden Cost of Registration
After a sexual offense conviction occurs, the law requires offenders to undergo a psychosexual evaluation. Offenders must also participate in offense-specific treatment.
This mandatory evaluation costs anywhere from $1,000 to $2,000. Despite not technically comprising part of the offense’s criminal penalties, offenders must pay these fees to avoid further punishment.
After the evaluation, offenders must participate in offense-specific treatment, which lasts anywhere from several months to many years and costs an average of $300 per month.
Exposure Does Not Always Mean Registration
Although they are still crimes, public urination and streaking offenses no longer require sex offender registration as of 2010.
A court must determine that the public exposure occurred for the defendant’s sexual gratification before it can punish them with sex offender registration. An experienced Colorado sex offender lawyer can protect you from such allegations.
Who is Ineligible for Deregistration?
Only a few types of sex offenders must register for life in Colorado. These include:
- Those whom the court identified as sexually violent predators
- Those whom the court convicted of multiple sex offenses
- Those whom the court convicted of sexual assault, incest, or aggravated incest
All who meet the above criteria will be permanently registered sex offenders, and the Colorado courts will never consider them eligible for deregistration.
Who is Eligible for Deregistration and When?
Nonviolent, one-time offenders are eligible for deregistration after a set period. The duration of that time depends on the severity and class of the crime in question.
- Five years: Class 1 misdemeanors, not including unlawful sexual contact.
- Ten years: Class 4-6 felonies and class 1 misdemeanor unlawful sexual contact.
- Twenty years: Class 1-3 felonies.
Even if an individual is eligible for deregistration, the courts may not grant it. That is why anyone in this position should enlist the support of a professional sex offender registry attorney. Denver residents can seek help from groups such as COLaw Team to help them get off the registry.
Need Legal Help?
Being wrongfully convicted of a sexual offense can ruin a person’s life. Never fight it alone.
At COLaw Team, we have dedicated ourselves to treating every client as a VIP. Our clients receive only the best care, and we use the latest technology to make our legal services affordable.
Contact us on our website or call us at (970) 670-0738 to speak with a professional Colorado defense lawyer today.